Midnight bloom

Perhaps mothers and grandmothers will remember this flower from their past. The Bakawali flower. With an intoxicatingly extravagant fragrance, it will only bloom once, in the mysteriously unpredictable dark coldness of the night. A trait that makes this most rare flower only more obscured in Malay myths and superstitions.

Late last night, my mother in her pyjamas, shocked me by being awake at an odd hour, storming outside while mumbling incoherent words, armed with a camera no less.

Knowing better than to stop her, I followed her, who at that point was already switching on the camera and adjusting the focus lenses with a fervour that I have never seen in her. I didn't notice the captivating scent lingering in the air at first. But when I saw the flower, I was instantly hypnotised.

The size wasn't the only thing that awed me. I was certain up to this point that this flower is only a myth. It is notorious for being ridiculously difficult to cultivate. Perhaps also, it was the colour, and the almost glowing beauty it radiated. But what really fascinated me was my mother's eyes peering into the camera's lenses.

My mother's eyes. It was brimming with an almost childish innocence. She looked transformed, like something changed within her.

"Ingat Mama masa arah Nini Uncu mu, kalau bunga ani mengambang, kana banguni tah ni kami semua untuk meliat tangah malam"

It was when she said that I understood everything. This flower reminded her of that distant childhood she once had, the innocent little child she once was, and most importantly, the people she truly misses, her mother, her sisters. Some are gone, some are still here.

We stood for a while just staring into this beautiful creation of God, and thought, how lucky I was, to have a flower that, one day, will remind me of my mother and though she might not realise, the amazing moment that she just gave to me.

Rara Turquoise(08).jpgRara Turquoise(07).jpgRara Turquoise(11).jpg

25 thoughts on “Midnight bloom

  1. Wow… and here I thought that Bakawali was fiction (Gol Bakawali). A myth. Now I know how wrong I was.

    And that was nice by the way, the way you cherish that moment. Wish there was a better picture of it though. Heehee.

    So about bakawali, it’ll only bloom once then? Just for that one night? Then what happens? Heehee, just curious.

    By the way, I was a silent reader to your blog. Very captivating I have to say, well done. And keep the good work. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hehe, why thank you. I thought it was high time for a mother’s day post and this was the perfect opportunity.

    AND YES! This is one of the days that I long for a better camera! It was truly beautiful and beeeeg!

    Like

  3. oh by the way, after that, the flower flops and dies. I guess another one grows in its place if we’re lucky. hehe. but well, time will tell.

    and thanks for reading the blog! 🙂

    Like

  4. ohhh its blooms setahun sekali…ada kan lagunya? very interesting…terkajut ku si atul ada sini mentag.. hhehehe..dang~ *waves*

    Like

  5. ooh! i know those flowers, my parents had them while i was growing up.. always very exciting because we’d sit outside and wait til it opens up. it’s absolutely beautiful!

    Like

  6. eyseyh. heheh sas monroe lagi tu. hahahahaha aku caya! aku caya! hahahaha.. aku pikir kauinda baca site ku saja hahahaha.. but yeah thank you. i linky winky you back yes?

    Like

  7. Bacha!!! Chali bah, aku ni suka barang yang chali. Hati ku ani, sanang rasanya. Seh, emusi. Pakai clubbing bunga!!! Bah, inda bah kesampaian kelabbing! Pasalnya paning dalam kerita.. KUAT bah baunya!

    Like

  8. I pictured the night blooming syrus in our greenhouse last night and in the early hours of this morning – we have another bloom ready for tonight – they are soo beautiful.

    Like

  9. I have 3 midnight blooming syrus. My grandmother raised then in her florist. After my grandmother died I went and dug up her exotic plant that she loved and brought it to my house. It has been 3, maybe 4 years and the plant never bloomed-however it did make babies, so now I have 3. Last year the mother plant gave me one fabulous fragrant bloom. this year one of the babies had one bloom- however before it opened it shriveled up and feel off, last week another one of the babies gave me 8 wonderful bloom–but before they open they shriveled up and died. Do you have any suggestions as to why this is happenng? Is there some mineral or fertiliizer it requires? Please respond if you have any ideas. It is very difficult to find anyone with any real knowledge of this unique plant.

    Like

  10. Whoa, my aunt has one in her house, and it bloomed today. Strong scent, and it’s gorgeous. Been trying to find out what it’s called, and I googled it. Incidentally, this post of yours came up, so imagine my surprise. Anyway, I finally found out its name. Gonna blog about it!

    Like

  11. I assume Syrus is a simple mispronunciation. It’s actually Cereus. Pronounced KER-EE-US. It’s an abbreviation of the scientific name of the genuine Queen of the Night (Selenicereus Grandiflorus), which is a variety of cactus.

    But technically, this houseplant variety is not a true Selenicereus, because they’ve been cross-bred with species from the Epiphyllum genus, thus the new scientific name. So I think the name Cereus might not really apply here since this is an Epiphyllum breed.

    Like

  12. I have been trying to find the name of this my Grndmother had one we to would get woke up in the night she would call this the christ in the manger because of the star and the manger in the middle of the flower. Also the blood red veins that let to the flower. Thank-you

    Like

  13. a friend of mine is parting with all of her houseplants and i purchsed 3, one being a ‘midnight bloom’ googled it and arrived here. thanks for the info and pictures. i’ll have to keep my camera ready!! LOL

    Like

  14. Hi do you have any idea where I can get the bulb? I have looked at all the cereaus flowers they don’t look the same. I too have fond memories of seeing the Bakwali open with my Grandmother. I really want to grow one for my grandchildren.

    Like

  15. these are easy to start from the one i got i have put any break offs into a different pot with lots of water at first when it takes root i back off on water. i have started 3 so far my question is my orgineral is bout 4 years old and has not bloomed yet, what can i do? yjank you very much for sharing.jb

    Like

Leave a comment