5 things meme (after much procrastination)

There has been a meme going around the blogs of the Global Voices crowd of late and just as I thought I had ‘escaped’ from being tagged, Rezwan named me as one of his ‘victims’.

I have never been a fan of memes. To me, they are grouped in the same category as chain mails and spam. However, while the meme was going around, I discovered that indeed Ethan was right: though we spend a lot our time reading their writings, thoughts, and such, there are actually very little facts that we know about.

So a spoilsport I am not going to be, and joining in the fun I will. So I thought of five things that people probably do not know about me.

While compiling the list, I found that the most difficult part was the fact that since I am not a particularly private person, it is rather strenuous to think of mere five. Especially when people like Ndesanjo and Rebecca had set the bar so high! 😛

However, I tried my best, and here are my five things:

1. I am tormented by the mental image of someone chewing on a piece of aluminium foil. *Arrrrrrgggggh!!!*

2. The earliest memory I can remember is during school, I remembered my teacher writing on the blackboard with white chalk the date and the year (1990). I remembered wondering, what year was it before that. It was the first time I understood the concept of dates.

3. I read not a single solitary book (not counting academic books related to my other courses) eversince I did a Modern English Literature course about 2.5 years ago. Amazing since before that I devour books with superhuman powers. I believe I was spent with all the incessant reading and endless analysing (to death) of almost a total of 10 books/poems/drama of the modern and postmodern period every single week for a period of three months. I never felt more glad when I finally finished and passed the 50 page exam paper. But not all was bad: this is how I found my love for Oscar Wilde.

4. I once won the award for Best Actor in a secondary school historical stage drama, based on the true story involving the forced cession of Labuan (back then a part of Brunei) to the British when the current Sultan of Brunei was under pressure from the British armed navy surrounding the Brunei waters, threatening to attack. Note that I won Best Actor, not actress. That was because I played the role of a Bruneian Laksamana (knight?) who wore the traditional Malay costume for men, complete with gold woven sinjang (closely resembling a kilt) and a hand-made dastar (head gear). The best part of my costume was my keris (long dagger used in traditional Malay martial arts, silat) borrowed from the Brunei Museum of National History.

5. My path for the future is pretty much cemented and already set. It suffocates me that it seems that I will live the mediocre life of a typical Government worker who will eventually become disillusioned and eventually complacent. There has got to be more to life.

Phew! That was HARD! *stretches*

To spread the evil, I will now tag: Rano, Amira, Encik Brunei Resources, Naz and Debbie.

6 thoughts on “5 things meme (after much procrastination)

  1. Re: item number one–I’ve lived my whole life so far without having to experience it. Now I can’t get it out of my head, too. THANKS A LOT, MAURINA.

    Like

Leave a comment